First lighting up Tillamook Bay in 1890, the Cape Meares Lighthouse now stands as a historical landmark.
Named after Captain John Meares, the first Captain to sail Tillamook Bay, the Cape Meares Lighthouse is the shortest lighthouse on the Oregon Coast standing at 38 feet tall. Though small, the light could be seen radiating 21 miles out to sea due to its cliffside position and Fresnel lens made special from France.
The Cape Meares Lighthouse was first lit in 1890 with a distinct red and white light pattern. It was kept lit by two oil houses that were replaced by an electrical system in 1934. Though deactivated in 1963, the lighthouse still stands due to the outcry of the public when the Coast Guard proposed tearing it down. It was opened to the public in 1980 and is still open to visitors from April to October for free admission.
The lighthouse is located 10 miles West of Tillamook, Oregon and falls at the Northern end of the Three Capes Scenic Route. There are nature trails surrounding the area including the Cape Meares State Scenic Viewpoint & National Wildlife Refuge, where native birds and migrating whales may be spotted and the Octopus Tree, a massive Sitka Spruce tree with a most unusual shape.