The remains of an American Civil War Fort and a monument that has been dedicated to the Battle of Lynchburg and the men that came to Lynchburg's defense from the Federal Forces.
The night of June 17, 1864, Jubal Anderson Early, who was the Lieutenant General C.S.A., came with his brave confederate soldiers to rescue Lynchburg when it was threatened by an invasion of the Federal Forces. The forces immediately started building a line of breastworks (earthworks). The dirt walls of the fort are approximately 12 to 15 feet in height on the outside and approximately 4 to 6 feet high on the inside. The men entrenched themselves behind the dirt fort walls in defense of the city of Lynchburg. The next day, which was June 18, 1864, the Union Forces, who were under the command of General David Hunter, attacked the Federal forces and their position. Eventually, Hunter's troops were forced to retreat. Today, the remains of the fort are evident by the now grassy mounds of earth. The brick wall and the brick building are post-war additions. The building was built by the Fort Hill Women's Club and now is a museum with exhibits on the Battle of Lynchburg. There is a 15-foot iron arch over the entrance that reads "Fort Early" which was placed in 1924. Across the street, a 17-foot high granite obelisk structure honors the Confederate General Jubal A. Early and was placed in 1919. The fort property and the monument are open during daytime hours for the public to explore. It should be noted that the museum building is closed to the public at this current time.